Travelling Scholarship Travelling Studio
Rotch Studio exhibit.

Rotch Studio exhibit 2009

2011 Rotch Studio winner


Yehre Suh


Cornell University


South Korea


Jury Chair Beth Whittaker, Merge Architects, Rotch Committee member

Danielle Etzler, Harvard Graduate School of Design

William O'Brien Jr., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mark Pasnik RA, over,under, Wentworth Institute of Technology

Anna Pla Catala, Harvard Graduate School of Design

Peter Wiederspahn, secretary of the Rotch Fellowship, Boston Society of Architects board member, associate professor at Northeastern School of Architecture and practicing architect


Yehre Suh of Cornell University received a $20,000 Rotch Travelling Studio grant to help fund a trip to South Korea for 12 architecture students at Cornell University. Prior to departure, students will research, analyze and propose preliminary architectural and urban scenarios for a reunified Korea. While traveling, the studio will work collaboratively with key policy organizations, including the Institute for Peace and Unification Studies at Seoul National University as well as the Ministry of Unification, with the goal of a better understanding of how architecture operates in international and regional geopolitical conditions. Upon their return, students will develop final design scenarios addressing topics of urban development relative to the conflicting issues of economic development, ecological and historical preservation and cultural transition.

Full studio submission

Rotch Scholars